Programme overview

G-STIC Conference January 2022

Sessions labeled will take place in one of the following conference venues: Dubai Exhibition Centre, Sustainability Pavilion, Norway Pavilion, Belgian Pavilion and Brazil Pavilion. Sessions labeled will be live-streamed from Dubai and can be followed online.

Dubai Exhibition Centre – Main Hall – 2A South

10:00
Aligning curricula and teacher education, especially with Artificial Intelligence

Education

×

Education

Aligning curricula and teacher education, especially with Artificial Intelligence

17/01/2022, 10:00 - 11:00 GST (Dubai)

07:00 - 08:00 CET/WAT (Brussels, Nigeria)

08:00 - 09:00 SAST (Cape Town)

01:00 - 02:00 EST (New York)

15:00 - 16:00 KST (Seoul)

14:00 - 15:00 CST (Beijing)

11:30 - 12:30 IST (New Delhi)

03:00 - 04:00 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre - Main Hall - 2A South & online

Register now >

Access to new technologies should provide the education sector with the means to innovate education systems and expand the access to better quality education for all. What matters even more is how innovative technology is used in the classroom by teachers to facilitate and encourage student learning beyond simple knowledge acquisition, and nurture a culture that values learning.

There is a general agreement that rapid technological change could have an important impact on the achievement of the SDGs. The vital role of science, technology and innovation in sustainable development and in facilitating efforts to address global challenges to improve education is widely recognised.

Technology is already a big part of the current classrooms, as teachers and education developers are looking for ways to improve our education systems. New technologies as artificial learning, digital innovations and educational software not only change the field of study for students, they also change the role of teachers and their approach to education.

During the Covid-19 crisis the education-system changed radically. The pandemic is giving technology massive insights at scale as to what human development and learning looks like, allowing it to potentially shift from just content dissemination to augmenting relationships with teachers, personalization, and independence.

On the other hand: moving the world’s students online has exposed deep inequities in the education system, from the shocking number of children who rely on school for food and a safe environment, to a digital divide in which kids without devices or reliable internet connections are cut off from learning completely.

Chaired by

Jan  De Groof

Jan De Groof

European Association for Educational Law and Policy

President

Keynote speech

Promoting inclusive education in the post-pandemic, technology-driven society

Leymah  Gbowee

Leymah Gbowee

Gbowee Peace Foundation Africa

Founder and President

Keynote speech

The role of technology and Artificial Intelligence in the future of education

Dirk Van Damme

Dirk Van Damme

Center for Curriculum Design

Senior Research Fellow

Panel discussion

Debate

Khalid Al-Begain

Khalid Al-Begain

Kuwait College of Science and Technology

President

Yousef  Torman

Yousef Torman (TBC)

Arab States Research and Education Network

Managing Director

Gong Ke

Gong Ke

World Federation of Engineering Organizations

President

Chandrika Bahadur

Chandrika Bahadur

UN SDSN Association

President

Q&A

Closing remarks

Jan  De Groof

Jan De Groof

European Association for Educational Law and Policy

President

Michelle Ran Ye

Michelle Ran Ye

KU Leuven

Professor at Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences

12:00
Lunch & Networking
13:00
High-level opening session: setting the scene

All themes

×

High-level opening session: setting the scene

17/01/2022, 13:00 - 14:15 GST (Dubai)

10:00 - 11:15 CET/WAT (Brussels, Nigeria)

11:00 - 12:15 SAST (Cape Town)

04:00 - 05:15 EST (New York)

18:00 - 19:15 KST (Seoul)

17:00 - 18:15 CST (Beijing)

14:30 - 15:45 IST (New Delhi)

06:00 - 07:15 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre - Main Hall - 2A South & online

Register now >

The COVID-19 pandemic presents both an enormous challenge and tremendous opportunities for realising the 2030 Agenda and SDGs.

On one hand, it threatens achievements already made in many areas. Everyone has been affected, but the impact is being disproportionally experienced among the poorest and most vulnerable.

On the other hand, the intersection between health and sustainability challenges might never have been clearer. This is an opportunity to be seized. Far from undermining the case for the SDGs, the root causes of and unequal impacts from COVID-19 precisely demonstrate why the 2030 Agenda is needed, while underscoring the urgency for it to be implemented.

The COVID-19 crisis has affected societies and economies around the globe and will permanently reshape our world as it continues to unfold. While the fallout is both amplifying familiar risks and creating new ones, change at this scale also creates new openings for managing systemic challenges and ways to build back better.

We are being forced to revisit our values and design a new area of development that truly balances economic, social and environmental progress, as envisioned by the 2030 Agenda and the SDGs. Building the greener and more inclusive future which helps countries reach these is dependent on integrated solutions.

During this opening session, the keynote speakers will provide their perspectives on why deep changes are needed, how they can be enabled and how they can be deployed to work for the benefit of all.

Facilitated by

Francesca  Vanthielen

Francesca Vanthielen

Moderator

Welcome by the host

Dirk Fransaer

Dirk Fransaer

VITO

Managing Director

Opening remarks

Reem Al Hashimi

Reem Al Hashimi (TBC)

United Arab Emirates

Minister of State for International Cooperation

Opening remarks by the co-hosts

Paulo Gadelha

Paulo Gadelha

Fiocruz

Former President, Coordinator Strategy for 2030 Agenda

Thulani Dlamini

Thulani Dlamini

Council for Industrial and Scientific Research

CEO

Okechukwu Ukwuoma

Okechukwu Ukwuoma

NACETEM

Director-General

Keynote presentation

Leymah  Gbowee

Leymah Gbowee

Gbowee Peace Foundation Africa

Founder and President

Keynote presentation

Princess Sumaya bint El Hassan

H.R.H. Princess Sumaya bint El Hassan (TBC)

WAITRO

President

Keynote presentation

Kehkashan  Basu

Kehkashan Basu

Green Hope Foundation

Founder and President

14:15
Coffee break & Networking
14:45
Technological solutions for addressing health crises and its impacts

Health

16:00
Coffee break & Networking
×

Coffee break & Networking

17/01/2022, 16:00 - 16:30 GST (Dubai)

13:00 - 13:30 CET/WAT (Brussels, Nigeria)

14:00 - 14:30 SAST (Cape Town)

07:00 - 07:30 EST (New York)

21:00 - 21:30 KST (Seoul)

20:00 - 20:30 CST (Beijing)

17:30 - 18:00 IST (New Delhi)

09:00 - 09:30 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre - Main Hall - 2A South & online

Register now >

The plenary session will provide an update on what the international community has learned about the origin of the pandemic, the challenges for controlling it, lessons learned, explanations behind both poor and successful performance cases and how to be prepared for future pandemics. It will also touch on how the world can reshape to become more healthy, sustainable and equitable.

16:30
International coalitions reveal the true value of water

Water

17:45
Break & Networking

Dubai Exhibition Centre – Break-out – 2A Suite

10:30
Technological solutions for rewilding and monitoring natural assets

All themes

14:45
Global value chains for decarbonization of the energy system

Energy

16:30
Global-Regional Climate Action

Climate

Sustainability Pavilion

18:30
Special evening session

Climate

19:45
Networking reception

Belgian Pavilion

14:45
SDG Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship

Brazilian Pavilion

19:45
VIP dinner hosted by Fiocruz