Innovative energy technologies

Transitioning to low-carbon energy

If we are to achieve carbon neutrality, we will have to develop and deploy decarbonisation strategies. Meeting the zero-carbon objective requires technological transformations within the energy sector.

Successful transition to low-carbon energy will depend on the interaction between four drivers: (1) integration of digital innovation in the energy system (2) development of prosumer business models (3) regulatory frameworks that incentivise companies to change and evolve into the zero-carbon era (4) changes in human behaviour in favour of renewables.

The Energy sessions will focus on carbon neutrality, discussing methodologies for making a carbon neutrality roadmap, new technologies for meeting the neutrality target within transport sectors, hydrogen’s global value chain, innovative digital technologies for boosting low-carbon development and climate financing.

Conference programme

Energy

25 October 2021

Thematic plenary session
Role and importance of NDCs in concerted efforts to achieve climate and sustainable development goals
11:15 - 12:45
Dubai Exhibition Centre

Climate, Energy

×

Climate Energy

Thematic plenary session

Role and importance of NDCs in concerted efforts to achieve climate and sustainable development goals

25/10/2021, 11:15 - 12:45 GST (Dubai)

09:15 - 10:45 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

08:15 - 09:45 WAT (Nigeria)

03:15 - 04:45 EDT (New York)

16:15 - 17:45 KST (Seoul)

15:15 - 16:45 CST (Beijing)

12:45 - 14:15 IST (New Delhi)

04:15 - 05:45 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre & online

Join us online >

Join us in Dubai >

Nationally determined contributions (NDCs) are at the heart of the Paris Agreement and the achievement of long-term climate goals. They embody each country’s efforts to reduce national emissions and adapt to the impacts of climate change. The Agreement states that every country is to prepare, communicate and maintain its intended successive NDCs.

Together, these actions will determine whether the world achieves the Agreement’s aims, including reversing the rise of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions as soon as possible and following through with rapid reduction. Goals which can be met by utilising the best-available science to achieve a balance between human-caused emissions and their removal in the second half of this century. It is understood that developing countries will take longer to peak their emissions and that reductions will be undertaken on an equitable basis. All must be done in the context of sustainable development and efforts to eradicate poverty, which are critical priorities for many developing countries.

This session will explore the challenges related with using NDCs as a mechanism for achieving climate goals and associated SDGs. How can we create and establish innovative financial mechanisms for implementing them, together with building national and regional capacity? And how can we accelerate this? High-level keynote speakers will share latest insights, examples and best practices.

Chaired by

Leen Govaerts

Leen Govaerts

VITO

Unit Manager Smart Energy and Built Environment

Leen Govaerts holds a master’s degree in business engineering and an executive MBA. Having begun her career researching low carbon mobility at the VITO Research Institute for Sustainable Development, she is currently leading VITO EnergyVille’s research unit for Smart Energy and Built Environment, which deals with sustainable energy and urban sustainability. With an approach based around living labs, key research areas are long-term energy strategies and policy, energy district design and sustainable building concepts.

Leen is an executive committee member for EnergyVille, an association of 400 researchers in sustainable energy and cities from VITO, KU Leuven, Imec and Hasselt University. She is the chairperson of BERA – Belgian Energy Research Alliance – and a member of the executive committee of EERA, the European Energy Research Alliance. She is involved in several international networks and has coordinated a number of European research consortia. Govaerts is also a recognised expert acting on behalf of the Flemish Government evaluating energy and sustainability aspects in relation to renewal of urban districts.

Presentation

Blue-green measures for climate adaptation

The Flanders Climate Adaptation Plan focuses on implementing nature-based solutions (NBS) to tackle the impacts of climate change. It includes a calculation of the costs of its proposed actions and explores the possibilities for synergies between adaptation and mitigation measures.

This presentation will look at the most important NBS measures for dealing with drought problems and the importance of the Blue Deal investments. How these link with the new EU Adaptation Strategy and international cooperation will also be addressed, along with the importance of a global approach to the climate change, knowledge exchange and mutual support.

Griet  Verstraeten

Griet Verstraeten (TBC)

Department of Environment

Policy Officer Climate Adaptation

Griet Verstraeten works as a policy advisor on climate change adaptation in the Flemish Government Department of Environment and Spatial Development. She is also the lead expert for Belgium on the European Adaptation Strategy.

In her role as policy advisor, Griet coordinates the work on local policy for Flanders carried out by the Flemish Task Force on Climate Change Adaptation and representatives from other Flemish Government departments (including agriculture and fisheries, mobility and infrastructure, economy and innovation, health, nature and forestry, environment, water, spatial planning). She is responsible for the development and implementation of the Flemish Plan on Climate Change Adaptation and for the communication, knowledge exchange and awareness-raising associated with it.

Griet has a master’s degree in bioscience engineering (land and forest management) from KU Leuven, a master’s degree in urban planning from the University of Antwerp and over 20 years’ experience in spatial planning, environmental policy, sustainable development and international cooperation. Verstraeten is an expert in international and European policies on climate change adaptation, with specific expertise on the implementation of nature-based solutions.

Griet Verstraeten represents the Flemish Government in the Belgian national working group on climate change adaptation (under the national climate commission) and is an active member of Working Group VI, the network on climate change adaptation under DG Climate.

Deep dive session
International transfer and dissemination of technology to make affordable, low-carbon technologies globally accessible
11:15 - 12:45

Energy

×

Energy

Deep dive session

International transfer and dissemination of technology to make affordable, low-carbon technologies globally accessible

25/10/2021, 11:15 - 12:45 GST (Dubai)

09:15 - 10:45 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

08:15 - 09:45 WAT (Nigeria)

03:15 - 04:45 EDT (New York)

16:15 - 17:45 KST (Seoul)

15:15 - 16:45 CST (Beijing)

12:45 - 14:15 IST (New Delhi)

04:15 - 05:45 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Online

Join us online >

If the global goal of carbon neutrality is to be achieved, we need to strengthen research, development and international application of low-carbon technology. While developed countries have sufficient resources to create advanced low-carbon technologies, many others do not. Worldwide adoption of low-carbon technology will only become possible if the relevant innovations are transferred to and disseminated among different countries, industries and companies.

Thematic plenary session
Financial mechanisms for accelerating NDC implementation
14:00 - 15:30
Dubai Exhibition Centre

Climate, Energy

×

Climate Energy

Thematic plenary session

Financial mechanisms for accelerating NDC implementation

25/10/2021, 14:00 - 15:30 GST (Dubai)

12:00 - 13:30 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

11:00 - 12:30 WAT (Nigeria)

06:00 - 07:30 EDT (New York)

19:00 - 20:30 KST (Seoul)

18:00 - 19:30 CST (Beijing)

15:30 - 17:00 IST (New Delhi)

07:00 - 08:30 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre & online

Join us online >

Join us in Dubai >

An unprecedented amount of climate finance needs to be mobilised for effective implementation of NDCs and achievement of the Paris Agreement goals. With several countries increasing their ambition and updating their NDCs in 2020, unlocking access to climate finance remains the most meaningful way to accelerate NDC implementation and drive transformative action.

NDC implementation requires effective deployment of the full array of domestic and international resources. Yet limited access to climate finance remains a chief constraint and help to overcome this is one of the most frequent support requests from NDC Partnership countries. Countries need assistance for making the economic case for climate-relevant projects. This includes using available data to clearly articulate the rationale, as well as building the technical skills to demonstrate the technical and financial requirements that underpin a well-prepared project proposal.

Deep dive session
Solutions to overcome data scarcity for NDCs
15:45 - 17:15
Dubai Exhibition Centre

Climate, Energy

×

Climate Energy

Deep dive session

Solutions to overcome data scarcity for NDCs

25/10/2021, 15:45 - 17:15 GST (Dubai)

13:45 - 15:15 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

12:45 - 14:15 WAT (Nigeria)

07:45 - 09:15 EDT (New York)

20:45 - 22:15 KST (Seoul)

19:45 - 21:15 CST (Beijing)

17:15 - 18:45 IST (New Delhi)

08:45 - 10:15 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Dubai Exhibition Centre & online

Join us online >

Join us in Dubai >

While NDCs embody countries’ efforts to adapt to the impacts of climate change, mitigating it by reducing GHG emissions remains a critical part of many policies (and SDG13). Verifiable data is crucial for determining efficient strategies and is pivotal for updating NDCs, as well as monitoring and reporting on implementation and progress. However, it is not available in many areas. This session will zoom in on solutions for overcoming data scarcity and focus on capacity building needs.

26 October 2021

Deep dive session
Innovative energy technologies to achieve carbon neutrality in the transport sector
09:30 - 11:00

Energy

×

Energy

Deep dive session

Innovative energy technologies to achieve carbon neutrality in the transport sector

26/10/2021, 09:30 - 11:00 GST (Dubai)

07:30 - 09:00 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

06:30 - 08:00 WAT (Nigeria)

01:30 - 03:00 EDT (New York)

14:30 - 16:00 KST (Seoul)

13:30 - 15:00 CST (Beijing)

11:00 - 12:30 IST (New Delhi)

02:30 - 04:00 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Online

Join us online >

Transport is responsible for a large proportion of greenhouse gas emissions and is one of the causes of climate change. There are already a lot of energy-saving and emission-reducing technologies, such as battery technologies and transport hubs, in existence. But to realise genuine zero-emission travel, we still need to develop intelligent transportation systems with energy management strategies for various vehicles with different energy sources, such as fuel cell vehicles, electrical vehicles and hybrid vehicles.

Deep dive session
Energy generation: transitioning from carbon-based to metal-based materials
11:00 - 13:00

Energy

×

Energy

Deep dive session

Energy generation: transitioning from carbon-based to metal-based materials

26/10/2021, 11:00 - 13:00 GST (Dubai)

09:00 - 11:00 CEST/SAST (Brussels, Cape Town)

08:00 - 10:00 WAT (Nigeria)

03:00 - 05:00 EDT (New York)

16:00 - 18:00 KST (Seoul)

15:00 - 17:00 CST (Beijing)

12:30 - 14:30 IST (New Delhi)

04:00 - 06:00 BRT (Rio de Janeiro)

Online

Join us online >

The transformation to low-carbon energy requires us to switch from using carbon-based materials to metal-based materials for generating power. However, supply of the key mineral resources for this, such as indium, tellurium, germanium and rare earth elements, is limited. We therefore have to minimise the amounts we need, by exploring new methods for making energy transformation within our current energy storage systems more efficient.

Deep dive session
Ports as incubator for low CO2 emission technologies
14:00 - 15:15
Belgian Pavilion

Climate, Energy

Deep dive session
Research and policy perspectives on CO2 as a resource
16:00 - 17:30
Belgian Pavilion

Climate, Energy

17 January 2022

Deep dive session
Energy
14:00 - 15:30

Energy

18 January 2022

Deep dive session
Energy
09:30 - 11:00

Energy

Thematic plenary session
Global value chains for decarbonization of the energy system
11:00 - 12:30
Dubai Exhibition Centre

Energy

Keynote speakers

Energy

Top experts

Energy

Deep dive sessions

Achieving carbon neutrality

Thematic coordinator

Energy

Thematic partners